Skip to main content

SPAN 6652 Hispanic Nobel Prize Winners in Literature (Spring: 3 )

Course Description

A wide variety of Spanish and Latin American writes have been honored by the Swedish Academy since the first literary Nobel Prize award in 1901. The literary achievements of these authors play an essential role in the development of twentieth-century Hispanic literature. Although all the Hispanic prize recipients will be taken into account, we will concentrate on eight winners spanning the twentieth century, Gabriel García Márquez and Camilo José Cela among them. By studying limited selections of their representative works, of different genres, students gain an understanding of linguistic and ideological dimensions responsible for the Nobel award to each laureate.

Schedule: Periodically

Instructor(s): Irene Mizrahi

Prerequisites: None

Cross listed with:

Comments: Conducted in Spanish
Fulfills Peninsular or Latin American post-1900 major requirement

Last Updated: 24-Jun-17